Skip to main content


City School District

Zones of Regulation

Home  \  Positive Behavior In...  \  Zones of Regulation

Zones of Regulation

Zones of Regulation 
The four colored Zones include:
  • The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions.  A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, explosive behavior, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone. 
  • The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions; however one has more control when they are in the Yellow Zone.  A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone.  
  • The Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone.  This is the zone where optimal learning occurs.  
  • The Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored.  

Samuel Bissell Elementary School staff have also developed lessons to teach students how to better identify their emotions.